OCTOBER 18, 2021

The Village of Forestburg Council includes five Councillors one of whom will serve as Mayor. Members of council are elected to a four-year term. Nomination papers will be available in January 2021 at the Village Office or at www.forestburg.ca
For more information, call the Village office at 780-582-3668.

2021 Election Package

Election day is October 18, 2021.The nomination period runs from January 1st, 2021 to 12pm (noon) on September 20th, 2021. Following are the important dates in the 2021 election cycle:

  • January 1, 2021, to September 20, 2021 – Nomination Period
  • Nomination Papers will be accepted beginning January 4th, 2020
  • Nominations will close at 12:00 noon local time on September 20, 2021
  • October 18, 2021 – Election Day

If you are considering running for office please refer to the following links to help you get started:

A Candidate’s Guide: Running for Municipal Office in Alberta

Municipal Elections – Overview (Province of Alberta)

Local Authorities Election Act

To determine if you qualify as a candidate

Section 21 – Qualification of the candidate
Section 22 – Ineligibility
Section 23 – Ineligibility for nomination

Instructions on filling out the nomination form

Section 27 – Form of nomination
Section 28 – Nominations

Information on assigning an official agent/representative

Section 68 – Option for Official agent

Penalties for filing a false statement

Section 151 – Offence candidate’s acceptance

Prospective candidates must submit the following to the Town office prior to 12pm on September 20th, 2021:

Form 4 – Nomination Paper and Candidate’s Acceptance
This form must be signed by 5 electors, who would be eligible to vote in the October 2021 election. 

Related Documents:

Village of Forestburg Committees

Bylaw 1:2020 Council Code of Conduct Bylaw

Policy#: A.2.1 Remuneration Policy















For after hour utility emergencies please call 780-582-4195.

 Council Meetings:  October 7 and 21 @ 7pm - Council Chambers (4902 50th Street)

Find us on Facebook
September 20, 2021
RE:Local Election Nominations (Unofficial)

The nomination period has closed. Following is a list of candidates
in alphabetical order by their surname:

Councillor (5 Positions)
Caron, Gerald
Fossen, Elaine
Giroux, Dwayne
McNabb, Devon
Young, Blaise A.